Graz

1914–1945

1914–1945
Graz 1914–1945
Listen to introduction

The First World War and the inter-war period in Graz were marked by food shortage and social hardship. The newly founded Republic of Austria and democracy did not bring political stabilisation. The geopolitical reorganisation of Europe results for Styria in the loss of Lower Styria, which was deplored across all party lines, and intensified the feeling of crisis.

Graz in the First Republic is determined on the one hand by social reforms, on the other hand it also was the cradle of National Socialism. The activities of the illegal Nazis during the Corporative State dictatorship led to Hitler awarding Graz the title of “City of the Popular Uprising”.

Only seven years passed between the storms of enthusiasm of the population of Graz on the occasion of Hitler’s speech at the Weitzer railcar factory on 3 April 1938 and the bombed city. However, the reappraisal of the crimes of National Socialism and taking responsibility for commemorating the murdered and expellees has continued to this day.

The soldiers carry tornister packs on their backs, and a bayonet, a bullet pouch, and a haversack on their belts. One man had to carry up to 60 kilogrammes of luggage.

The soldiers are in their combat uniforms with coats and caps. Not before 1916, steel helmets were introduced in the Austro-Hungarian army.

As a farewell, the soldiers were decorated with flowers. They stand for the “Spirit of 1914”, the war euphoria, which was both propagandistic and short-lived from the vantage point of the present. Already in late 1914, more than one million Austrian-Hungarian soldiers were either dead, wounded, missing, or prisoners of war.

Auszug von Soldaten des Grazer Hausregiments (Nr. 27) (Departure of Soldiers of the Local Regiment from Graz (No. 27)) Franz Köck, around 1918

Into the First World War with Enthusiasm?

Delirious crowds attending the departure of the soldiers in the summer of 1914 have dominated our idea of the beginning of World War I down to the present day. Franz Köck conveys this cliché only to a limited extent in his painting. He depicts proud joy, but also the pathos of farewell, in a more subtle manner. While the young soldiers enter eye contact with the viewers with inviting confidence, the averted gloomy eyes of the older men evoke compassion.

More information Created with Sketch.
Graz, Stadt der Volkserhebung, Dokumentation über den „Umbruch“ 1938 in Graz (Graz, City of the Popular Uprising, documentary about the ‘radical change’ in Graz in 1938) Hanns Wagula, 1938

In the City of the “Popular Uprising”

In 1938, the commercial artist and filmmaker Hanns Wagula documented the “Anschluss” in Graz, the “City of the Popular Uprising”. The film shows the marching in of units of the German Wehrmacht, the Sturmabteilung (SA), the Hitler Youth, and the League of German Girls (BDM) into the inner city of Graz on 13 March 1938. The propagandistic film forges a bridge from free meals given away by young women from the League of German Girls to the programmatic “Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Führer“ (One people, one nation, one leader). For this, Wagula was honoured with the “Wanderpreis für den besten Berichts- und Propagandafilm staatspolitischer Art 1940” by the Reichspropagandaleitung, the central party propaganda office of the NSDAP.

More information Created with Sketch.

The Holocaust as the Murderous Culmination of a Culture of Hatred

The anti-Semitic potential that had been built up over decades, especially in Austria and Germany, found its fulfilment in Hitler's delusion of “keeping Germanic blood pure” through the “annihilation of World Judaism”.

By 1940 at the latest, with the systematic murder of people with disabilities, there was a civilization breach that destroyed all normative structures of humanity. From mid-1941 to early 1945, up to 6 million Jews were murdered in the Shoah (the Holocaust)—about 3 million in extermination camps such as Auschwitz, Betzec, Sobibór and Treblinka, about 0.7 million in mobile gas vans, about 1 million in ghettos and concentration camps, and about 1.3 million in mass shootings, primarily on the eastern front.

In 1934, the Jewish Community in Graz had 1,720 members. After the “Anschluss” in 1938, Jewish citizens were systematically persecuted. In the spring of 1940, National Socialist mayor Julius Kaspar declared the city of Graz “free of Jews”.

Legend

Jews murdered between 1 September 1939 and 8 May 1945

Border German Empire 1942

Borders 1937

German Empire

Territories occupied by the German Empire

Occupied by Germany as from 11 November 1942

Allies of the German Empire

Territories occupied by the Allies

shape-square Created with Sketch. The Project of the City

The First World War manifested itself in Graz through starving masses, military quartering and wounded soldiers. The dissolution of the municipal council in 1914 interrupted civic political co-creation which could only be resumed after the (first free) elections in the First Republic.

In the decades that followed, the municipality had to cope with the consequences of the defeat—refugees, war veterans, economic misery and a precarious housing and supply situation. Social Democratic mayor Vinzenz Muchitsch sought social balance and still inexperienced democracy, which set “red Graz” in contrast to conservative Styria.

The “civic” idea reached its limits at a time of increasing radicalisation and the elimination of basic democratic rights. With the National Socialist assumption of power, civilized society came to a standstill and so did the civic project.

shape-circle Created with Sketch. Gender Roles

The experiences of the First World War resulted in the breaking up of traditional relationships of roles. New public and professional fields of activity opened up for women. In 1918, they were granted the hard-won active and passive right to vote.

At the same time, there was an energetic counter-movement that sought to detect moral decay. Sexual orientations outside the heterosexual norm, extramarital relationships or homosexuality were rejected. In the post-war years and under the “Corporative State” dictatorship, some women were again forced out of jobs and public offices by law.

The ideology of National Socialism reduced men to militant masculinity. The role of women was redefined from a “racial” point of view: They were to secure the survival and “purity” of the “racial corpus”. Homosexual people were persecuted and murdered by the National Socialists.

shape-triangle Created with Sketch. Diversity

The territorial reorganisation of Europe after the First World War also had far-reaching consequences for Styria. It lost one third of its territory to the SHS State (Kingdom of Yugoslavia). Only a few people had confidence in “residual Austria” and young democracy. In Styria, radically authoritarian tendencies and nationalist, anti-democratic, anti-socialist, anti-Semitic and anti-Slovenian sentiments were particularly pronounced. The NSDAP Austria was founded by a splinter group of the Styrian Home Guard.

The failure of democracy became apparent in the elimination of the Austrian parliament by Engelbert Dollfuß, the ban on party political opponents and the establishment of the “Corporative State” dictatorship. Despite a ban, many citizens of Graz, “the City of the Popular Uprising”, confessed to National Socialism in even before the “Anschluss” (the annexation of Austria). In March 1940, the mayor, SS Obersturmbannführer Julius Kaspar, declared the “Gau capital” “free of Jews”.

shape-rectangle Created with Sketch. Images of the City

Around 1900, the city’s shape was essentially completed in the inner-city districts. The onerous housing shortage after the First World War had to be alleviated by the municipal administration with building residential complexes on the city’s periphery. Yet the city crucially changed through the incorporation of the surrounding communities, which had been discussed already before the turn of the twentieth century. Mayor Vinzenz Muchitsch pushed the project in the interwar period, but it was finalised in 1938 by the Nazi regime under the name of “Greater Graz” and within a few weeks.

The latter had further plans for the “City of the Popular Uprising”: massive road axes directed towards the Schloßberg, and solemn squares with monumental administration temples. In the end, the appearance of city Graz was spared this gigantic intervention. Yet it was not spared the air raids of the Allied Forces from late winter 1944 to Easter 1945. Almost 50% of all buildings of the city were damaged or destroyed.

Triestersiedlung

Unlike in Linz, nobody speaks of “Hitlerbauten” (Hitler Buildings) in Graz. One does not recognize that the foundation pillars of these buildings were completely delusional ideas addressed against (fi ctional) enemies, such as “keeping clean the Germanic blood” and the annihilation of the Judaism of the world. Hitler’s hatred against the “inferior” Slavs, who must be enslaved in the new territories of the East, is not expressed in these buildings. The banality of evil is practical and livable in the Südtirolersiedlung, which was once built for those “Germans” (i.e. the South Tyroleans) who opted against Mussolini.

Triesterstraße, 8020 Graz

Triestersiedlung

Unlike in Linz, nobody speaks of “Hitlerbauten” (Hitler Buildings) in Graz. One does not recognize that the foundation pillars of these buildings were completely delusional ideas addressed against (fi ctional) enemies, such as “keeping clean the Germanic blood” and the annihilation of the Judaism of the world. Hitler’s hatred against the “inferior” Slavs, who must be enslaved in the new territories of the East, is not expressed in these buildings. The banality of evil is practical and livable in the Südtirolersiedlung, which was once built for those “Germans” (i.e. the South Tyroleans) who opted against Mussolini.

Triesterstraße, 8020 Graz

Schießplatz Feliferhof

This hand grenade throwing range on the target practice grounds of the Feliferhof has inscribed itself in many people’s memory as a silent symbol of political crime. Far more than 300 people were executed here for “Wehrkraftzersetzung” (“subversion of the war effort” is one of the common translations), political resistance, and other reasons. In May 1945, a mass grave was opened where 142 bodies were found. Subsequently, they were buried with dignity at the central cemetery of Graz. In the frame of an annual mourning ceremony there, all victims of Nazi terror are commemorated.

Schießplatz 1, 8052 Graz

Schießplatz Feliferhof

This hand grenade throwing range on the target practice grounds of the Feliferhof has inscribed itself in many people’s memory as a silent symbol of political crime. Far more than 300 people were executed here for “Wehrkraftzersetzung” (“subversion of the war effort” is one of the common translations), political resistance, and other reasons. In May 1945, a mass grave was opened where 142 bodies were found. Subsequently, they were buried with dignity at the central cemetery of Graz. In the frame of an annual mourning ceremony there, all victims of Nazi terror are commemorated.

Schießplatz 1, 8052 Graz

    Fatal Error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 4096 bytes) (line 1269 of /var/www/vhosts/grazmuseum.at/360dev.grazmuseum.at/wire/core/WireDatabaseBackup.php)

    This error message was shown because: site is in debug mode. ($config->debug = true; => /site/config.php). Error has been logged.

    Server Error

    Server Error

    We're sorry! The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Please try again later.

    error 500 | 26. 5. 2024 02:18

Graz

1914–1945

1914–1945
Graz 1914–1945
Einleitung anhören

Der Erste Weltkrieg und die Zwischenkriegszeit sind in Graz von Lebensmittelknappheit und sozialer Not geprägt. Die neu gegründete Republik Österreich und die Demokratie bringen keine politische Stabilisierung. Die geopolitische Neuordnung Europas hat für die Steiermark den über alle Parteigrenzen hinweg beklagten Wegfall der „Untersteiermark“ zur Folge und verstärkt das Gefühl der Krise.

Das Graz der Ersten Republik wird einerseits von Sozialreformen bestimmt, andererseits fungiert es auch als Wiege des Nationalsozialismus. Die Aktivitäten der illegalen Nazis während der „Ständestaat“-Diktatur führen zum von Hitler verliehenen Titel „Stadt der Volkserhebung“.

Zwischen den Begeisterungsstürmen der Grazer/-innen bei Hitlers Rede am 3. April 1938 in der Weitzer Waggonfabrik und der zerbombten Stadt liegen nur sieben Jahre. Die Aufarbeitung der Verbrechen im Nationalsozialismus sowie die Übernahme der Verantwortung, der Ermordeten und Vertriebenen zu gedenken, halten hingegen bis heute an.

Am Rücken tragen die Soldaten einen Tornister, am Gürtel Bajonett, Patronentasche und einen Brotsack. Ein Mann hatte bis zu 60 Kilogramm Gepäck zu tragen.

Die Soldaten befinden sich in Kampf-Adjustierung mit Mantel und Kappe. Der Stahlhelm wurde bei der österreichisch-ungarischen Armee erst 1916 eingeführt.

Die Soldaten wurden zum Abschied mit Blumen geschmückt. Diese stehen für das „Augusterlebnis“ der Kriegseuphorie, die aus heutiger Sicht ebenso propagandistisch wie kurzlebig war. Schon Ende 1914 gab es mehr als 1 Million tote, verletzte, vermisste oder in Kriegsgefangenschaft befindliche österreichisch-ungarische Soldaten.

Auszug von Soldaten des Grazer Hausregiments (Nr. 27) Franz Köck, um 1918

Mit Begeisterung in den Ersten Weltkrieg?

Freudetaumelnde Menschenmassen beim Auszug der Soldaten im Sommer 1914 dominieren unsere Vorstellung vom Beginn des Ersten Weltkriegs bis heute. Franz Köck vermittelt in seinem Gemälde dieses Klischee nur bedingt. Auf subtilere Weise stellt er stolze Freude, aber auch das Pathos des Abschieds dar. Während die jungen Soldaten den Blickkontakt mit den Betrachter/-innen mit auffordernder Zuversicht suchen, rufen die abgewandten, düsteren Blicke der älteren Männer Mitgefühl hervor.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.
Graz, Stadt der Volkserhebung, Dokumentation über den „Umbruch“ 1938 in Graz Hanns Wagula, 1938

In der „Stadt der Volkserhebung“

Der Werbegrafiker und Filmemacher Hanns Wagula dokumentierte 1938 den „Anschluss“ in Graz, der „Stadt der Volkserhebung“. Der Film zeigt den Einmarsch der Deutschen Wehrmacht sowie Formationen der Sturmabteilung (SA), Hitlerjugend (HJ) und des Bunds Deutscher Mädel (BDM) in die Grazer Innenstadt am 13. März 1938. In dem propagandistischen Film wird ein Bogen von den Volksausspeisungen durch die BDM-Jugend bis zum programmatischen „Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Führer“ gespannt. Wagula wurde dafür von der Reichspropagandaleitung der NSDAP mit dem Wanderpreis für den besten Berichts- und Propagandafilm staatspolitischer Art 1940 ausgezeichnet.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.

Der Holocaust als mörderischer Endpunkt einer Kultur des Hasses

Das vor allem in Österreich und Deutschland jahrzehntelang aufgebaute antisemitische Potential fand in Hitlers Wahnvorstellung von der „Reinhaltung germanischen Blutes“ durch die „Vernichtung des Weltjudentums“ seine Erfüllung.

Spätestens 1940, mit der systematischen Ermordung behinderter Menschen, kam es zu einem Zivilisationsbruch, bei dem alle Normengefüge des Humanen zerstört wurden. Von Mitte 1941 bis Anfang 1945 wurden in der Shoa (dem Holocaust) bis zu 6 Mio. Jüdinnen und Juden ermordet – rund 3 Mio. in Vernichtungslagern wie Auschwitz, Betzec, Sobibór und Treblinka, etwa 0,7 Mio. in mobilen Gaswagen, ca. 1 Mio. in Ghettos und Konzentrationslagern und an die 1,3 Mio. bei Massenerschießungen vor allem an der Ostfront.

1934 verzeichnete die Israelitische Kultusgemeinde in Graz 1.720 Mitglieder. Nach dem „Anschluss“ 1938 wurden jüdische Bürger/-innen sukzessive verfolgt. Im Frühjahr 1940 erklärte der nationalsozialistische Bürgermeister Julius Kaspar die Stadt Graz für „judenfrei“.

Legende

Zwischen dem 1. September 1939 und dem 8. Mai 1945 ermordete Jüdinnen und Juden

Grenze Deutsches Reich 1942

Grenzen 1937

Deutsches Reich

Vom Deutschen Reich besetzte Gebiete

Ab 11. November 1942 deutsch besetzt

Verbündete des Deutschen Reichs

Von den Verbündeten besetzte Gebiete

shape-square Created with Sketch. Projekt Stadt

Der Erste Weltkrieg manifestierte sich in Graz durch hungernde Massen, Militäreinquartierungen und Verwundete. Die stadtbürgerliche politische Mitgestaltung wurde durch die Auflösung des Gemeinderats 1914 unterbrochen und konnte erst nach den (erstmals freien) Wahlen in der Ersten Republik wiederaufgenommen werden.

In den nachfolgenden Jahrzehnten hatte die Stadtgemeinde die Folgen der Niederlage – Flüchtlinge, Heimkehrer, wirtschaftliche Misere und eine prekäre Wohnungs- und Versorgungslage – zu verkraften. Der sozialdemokratische Bürgermeister Vinzenz Muchitsch bemühte sich um sozialen Ausgleich und die noch ungeübte Demokratie, womit das „Rote Graz“ im Kontrast zur konservativen Steiermark stand.

Die „stadtbürgerliche“ Idee geriet in einer Zeit der zunehmenden Radikalisierung und des Abbaus demokratischer Grundrechte an ihre Grenzen. Mit der nationalsozialistischen Machtübernahme kam die zivilisierte Gesellschaft zum Erliegen und mit ihr das Projekt Stadt.

shape-circle Created with Sketch. Geschlechterrollen

Die Erfahrungen des Ersten Weltkriegs führten zu einem Aufbrechen traditioneller Rollenverhältnisse. Für Frauen öffneten sich neue öffentliche und berufliche Betätigungsfelder. 1918 erhielten sie das lang erkämpfte aktive und passive Wahlrecht.

Zugleich herrschte eine energische Gegenbewegung, die einen moralischen Verfall auszumachen suchte. Sexuelle Orientierungen außerhalb der heterosexuellen Norm, außereheliche Verbindungen oder Homosexualität wurden abgelehnt. In den Nachkriegsjahren und in der „Ständestaat“-Diktatur wurden Frauen teilweise wieder per Gesetz aus Berufen sowie öffentlichen Ämtern gedrängt.

Die Ideologie des Nationalsozialismus reduzierte den Mann auf eine militante Männlichkeit. Die Rolle der Frau wurde aus „rassischen“ Gesichtspunkten neu definiert: Ihre Aufgabe sollte es sein, den Fortbestand und die „Reinheit“ des „Volkskörpers“ zu sichern. Homosexuelle Menschen wurden von den Nationalsozialist/-innen verfolgt und ermordet.

shape-triangle Created with Sketch. Vielfalt

Die territorialen Neuordnungen Europas nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg hatten auch für die Steiermark weitreichende Folgen. Sie verlor ein Drittel ihres Gebiets an den SHS-Staat (Königreich Jugoslawien). Nur wenige hatten Zuversicht in „Restösterreich“ und die junge Demokratie. In der Steiermark waren radikal autoritäre Tendenzen und völkisch nationale, antidemokratische, antisozialistische, antisemitische und antislowenische Gesinnungen besonders stark ausgeprägt. Die NSDAP Österreich wurde von einer steirischen Heimwehr-Splittergruppe gegründet.

Das Scheitern der Demokratie zeigte sich in der Ausschaltung des Parlaments durch Engelbert Dollfuß, dem Verbot parteipolitischer Gegner und der Errichtung der „Ständestaat“-Diktatur. Trotz Verbots bekannten sich in der „Stadt der Volkserhebung“ viele Grazer/-innen noch vor dem „Anschluss“ zum Nationalsozialismus. Der Oberbürgermeister, SS-Obersturmführer Julius Kaspar, meldete im März 1940 die „Gauhauptstadt“ als „judenfrei“.

shape-rectangle Created with Sketch. Stadtbilder

Die Stadtgestalt der inneren Bezirke war um 1900 im Wesentlichen vollendet. Die nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg drückende Wohnungsnot musste von der Stadtverwaltung durch die Errichtung peripherer Wohnsiedlungen gelindert werden. Die entscheidende Veränderung der Stadt kam mit der, schon vor der Jahrhundertwende diskutierten, Eingemeindung der umliegenden Ortschaften. Bürgermeister Vinzenz Muchitsch forcierte das Projekt in der Zwischenkriegszeit, finalisiert wurde es jedoch 1938, unter dem Namen „Groß-Graz“ und innerhalb weniger Wochen, vom NS-Regime.

Dieses hatte noch weitere Pläne für die „Stadt der Volkserhebung“: wuchtige, auf den Schloßberg gerichtete Straßenachsen und feierliche Plätze mit monumentalen Verwaltungstempeln. Letztlich blieb die Grazer Stadtgestalt von diesem gigantischen Eingriff verschont. Nicht aber von den Luftangriffen der alliierten Streitkräfte vom Spätwinter 1944 bis Ostern 1945. Fast 50 Prozent aller Gebäude der Stadt wurden beschädigt oder zerstört.

Triestersiedlung

Anders als in Linz spricht in Graz niemand von „Hitlerbauten“. Man sieht es ihnen nicht an, dass die Grundpfeiler dieser Gebäude völlig wahnhafte, gegen (fiktive) Gegner/-innen gerichtete Ideen waren, wie etwa die „Reinhaltung germanischen Blutes“ und die Vernichtung des Weltjudentums. Hitlers Hass auf die „minderwertigen“ Slaw/-innen, die im neuen „Lebensraum“ des Ostens zu versklaven seien, ist nicht Stein geworden. Die Banalität des Bösen ist praktisch und wohnlich in der Südtiroler-Siedlung, gebaut für jene „Deutschen“, die gegen Mussolini optiert hatten.

Triesterstraße, 8020 Graz

Triestersiedlung

Anders als in Linz spricht in Graz niemand von „Hitlerbauten“. Man sieht es ihnen nicht an, dass die Grundpfeiler dieser Gebäude völlig wahnhafte, gegen (fiktive) Gegner/-innen gerichtete Ideen waren, wie etwa die „Reinhaltung germanischen Blutes“ und die Vernichtung des Weltjudentums. Hitlers Hass auf die „minderwertigen“ Slaw/-innen, die im neuen „Lebensraum“ des Ostens zu versklaven seien, ist nicht Stein geworden. Die Banalität des Bösen ist praktisch und wohnlich in der Südtiroler-Siedlung, gebaut für jene „Deutschen“, die gegen Mussolini optiert hatten.

Triesterstraße, 8020 Graz

Schießplatz Feliferhof

Dieser Handgranaten-Wurfstand am Schießübungsgelände des Feliferhof hat sich bei vielen als stille Ikone für politische Verbrechen ins Gedächtnis geschrieben. Weit über 300 Menschen waren hier wegen „Wehrkraftzersetzung“, politischem Widerstand und anderen Gründen hingerichtet worden. Im Mai 1945 wurde ein Massengrab geöffnet, in dem man 142 Leichen fand. Diese wurden daraufhin am Zentralfriedhof würdig bestattet. Im Rahmen eines jährlich dort stattfindenden Trauerakts wird aller Opfer des nationalsozialistischen Terrors gedacht.

Schießplatz 1, 8052 Graz

Schießplatz Feliferhof

Dieser Handgranaten-Wurfstand am Schießübungsgelände des Feliferhof hat sich bei vielen als stille Ikone für politische Verbrechen ins Gedächtnis geschrieben. Weit über 300 Menschen waren hier wegen „Wehrkraftzersetzung“, politischem Widerstand und anderen Gründen hingerichtet worden. Im Mai 1945 wurde ein Massengrab geöffnet, in dem man 142 Leichen fand. Diese wurden daraufhin am Zentralfriedhof würdig bestattet. Im Rahmen eines jährlich dort stattfindenden Trauerakts wird aller Opfer des nationalsozialistischen Terrors gedacht.

Schießplatz 1, 8052 Graz