Graz

1809–1914

1809–1914
Graz 1809–1914
Listen to introduction

The loss of the fortress in the early 19th century was only the beginning of rapid transformation processes. Industrialization and exploding population figures changed the cityscape. Newly established large factories attracted people to the city—the working class emerged.

The transformations also affected the social fabric. In various sections of the population, women strived for more self-determination and participation. The bourgeoisie found itself between enthusiasm for technical innovations and industrialization processes on the one hand, and nostalgia and fear of change on the other. Biedermeier idyll and modernization stood in contrast to each other.

The German National sentiments in the “most German city of the Monarchy” became more and more evident both culturally and politically.

The women’s bicycle from 1900 typically not only features a clothing net, but also a carbide lamp as a light source. This gas lamp was in use from the 1890s for buildings, bicycles and other vehicles. The fuel used was calcium carbide, which in combination with water released ethine gas for lighting. Some carbide lamps were popular until the 1950s because they were very lightweight, bright and relatively inexpensive. Then they were replaced by electric lighting.

Ladies’ Bicycle Puch, Year of Manufacture 1900

A “Windischer” (a Slovene) Brings Mobility to Austria

At the time when Janez Puh from Lower Styria (translator’s note: which is part of Slovenia today) moved up the ladder from small craftsman to factory owner, Graz transformed from a sleepy provincial city into an industrial and commercial centre. As it was linked to the south axis of the railway network by the route from Graz to Mürzzuschlag in 1844, the city was catapulted into the Industrial Age. Beside the Puch factories, other large companies such as the Reininghaus and Puntigam breweries, the Andritz machine works, the Weitzer railcar factory or the D. H. Pollak & Co shoe factory (today Humanic) tempted thousands of jobseekers from surrounding areas to come to the city.

More information Created with Sketch.

The water from the Mur River was used for watering the fields, extinguishing fires, or—as can be seen here—for washing clothes. In the 19th century this was still heavy work, performed by women. The laundry was beaten with the hands, scrubbed, rinsed, wrung out, and hung over clotheslines in order to dry.

The chain bridge, which was named after Emperor Ferdinand I, was built by Franz Strohmeyer, the leaseholder of the “Überfuhr” (ferry) according to plans by the Vienna-based architect Johann Jäckl. It was the first chain bridge in Styria and the largest one in Austria. The Kepler Bridge stands at its place today.

The Rottal Mill with its two high gables, which belonged to the “Älteres Bäckerei-Consortium” (Older Bakery Consortium) is one of the enterprises that drew their energy from the left Mühlgang before the steam engine was introduced.

In the picture on the left there is a raft in the Mur River. In the early 19th century, the still unregulated river still serves as a transport route for people and goods.

The “Pruggmeier’sche Hadernstampfe” is a paper mill, i.e. a workshop where paper is produced of vegetable fibres and/or old rags. The paper produced this way was hung out to dry under the roof and in the garden.

Die neuerbaute Kettenbrücke der Hauptstadt Graz – Ansicht vom Schloßberg gegen Westen (The Newly Constructed Chain Bridge of the Capital of Graz—View from the Schloßberg to the West) Conrad Kreuzer, 1836

Early Industrialization—a Graz Idyll

In the foreground, the tranquillity of the Biedermeier dominates the scenery. The Mühlgang hosted the main energy source of the time: the water wheels of the mills. But what actually takes centre stage is the new industrial age. In 1833, the first Styrian and at the time biggest Austrian chain bridge, the Ferdinand Chain Bridge, was built on the location of today’s Kepler Bridge. In order to hold the roadway, two massive brick-built chain houses on both banks of the Mur River were needed. What we owe to technical masterpieces like this one is also the expansion of railway lines.

More information Created with Sketch.
Inscription on the Graz Opera House (Reproduction)

Graz, Nuremberg of the South

In 1897, when mayor Franz Graf took office, the decision for the construction of a new city theatre was taken. The city government’s cultural political driving force for this was clear: It was intended to become a German National sanctuary of the Wagner cult. In Graz,  there was great enthusiasm for Richard Wagner, the leading figure of German-language cultural bourgeoisie. The marble plate on the backside of the present-day Graz Opera House bears witness to this with Hans Sachs’ verses from the opera “Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg“.

More information Created with Sketch.

German Supremacy Starts to Falter

As a multi-ethnic empire, the Austro-Hungarian monarchy was characterised by a diversity of languages. The most common languages were German, Hungarian, Czech, Polish, Ukrainian, Romanian, Croatian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian and Italian. German was the dominant official language. From 1867, formal freedoms were granted to minorities in the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Ten languages were permitted in the Imperial Assembly. Nevertheless, the demands for independence of individual nations became ever stronger.

Especially in Graz and Styria, as a border area to the Slavic region, German National tendencies increasingly emerged in the late 19th century. In 1889, the Verein Südmark was founded, an association with a large number of members, which advocated the use of the German language in border regions and German language islands in foreign-language regions. The influential association was marked by an increasingly hostile attitude towards the Slavs, which was shared by a large part of the population at that time.

Legend

Border of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy 1908

The Austro-Hungarian Monarchy is a multiethnic empire. The local administrations try to get an overview of ethnic affiliations by means of population censuses. Yet thereby it is not the nationality that is queried but the everyday language. The registered individuals often do not know which language to commit themselves to. Many Slovenes from Graz believe that they have to declare themselves as native speakers of German. Moreover, the uncounted minorities get lost in the identification of the relative majority.

shape-square Created with Sketch. The Project of the City

In the 19th century too, the city was mainly responsible for social transformation and provided sanitary facilities, infrastructure, and cultural institutions. In the first half of the nineteenth century, Archduke John introduced the departure of the city of Graz into a technological and scientific knowledge society.

The Gründerzeit period of the 1870s and 1880s was marked by liberal bourgeoisie in Graz too. Individual freedom and freedom of property created the preconditions for a capitalist social order. The concept and way of life of the bourgeois were elevated to an ideal beyond social borders and the ruling social orders.

But the “bourgeois project” began to fragment and destroy itself in ideological power struggles. The uprooted petty bourgeois lower middle class sought new clarity in a manageable community with clear enemy images.

shape-circle Created with Sketch. Gender Roles

The wife as housewife and mother, the husband as family breadwinner—that was the bourgeois ideal of the 19th century. At the same time, the calls to break down these rigid gender boundaries became ever more vehement. Women banded together in social, political, and economic movements. Noble and bourgeois women founded welfare and educational associations—like in Graz in 1848. Women workers organized themselves to claim fair wages, regular working hours, and increasingly women’s suffrage too.

The precondition for equality was the right to school education or vocational training—rights that had been hard-earned over time. In Graz, the first girls’ lyceum of the Monarchy opened in the building of today’s GrazMuseum in 1873. In 1898, the first woman was admitted to the University of Graz as a regular student.

shape-triangle Created with Sketch. Diversity

In Archduke John’s age, Enlightenment marked the mindsets of the educated people in the Masonic lodges, the academies, salons and reading circles. But the Austrian police state of State Chancellor Metternich created the opposite of a liberal society. Police informing, censorship and the restriction of freedom of expression were daily routine. Nevertheless: With the March Revolution of 1848 liberal tendencies emerged violently.

The system also addressed another phenomenon of that time: nationalism, which seemed incompatible with the many nations of the Hapsburg monarchy. After Metternich was overthrown, there were more and more forceful claims for national self-determination. Following Austria's defeat in the Austro-Prussian War in 1866, a “lesser German” nation state finally emerged. When the German Empire was proclaimed in 1870/71, many native speakers of German put their hopes in the new European great power—not only in Graz.

shape-rectangle Created with Sketch. Images of the City

The fortress on the Schloßberg was blown up after the victory of the Napoleonic army over the Hapsburg troops in 1809 and the cityscape of Graz lost its most dominant landmark. Parts of the Grazer Burg and many of the fortifications, bastions and city gates were razed.

In its place, the ring road and the English gardens were built on the Schloßberg and in the Stadtpark. The Gründerzeit residential districts in Geidorf and St. Leonhard also developed. The noblest public square of Graz, the classicist Franzensplatz—today’s Freiheitsplatz—was built on the site of the former Hofgarten.

Traffic routes were regulated and realigned, modern large bridges connected the old town with the districts of Gries and Lend; at the same time, the Annenstraße towards Graz Main Station was built. Between 1885 and 1900 alone, 1,800 new buildings were erected. Thus, the core design of city of Graz as we know it today was completed.

Ostbahnhof

In 1857, the railway line from Vienna to Trieste leading over the Semmering mountain was completed. That this line ran via Graz was rather due the imperial court’s fear of a revolution in Hungary (which was to be crushed in 1849) than Archduke John’s inflfl uence. For fear of this, the originally planned route via Hungary was discarded. Yet, when the Austro-Hungarian monarchy was established, the connection with Hungary was of course desired again. The Ostbahnhof (eastern railway station), the terminus of the Hungarian Westbahn (western line), which was built in 1873, bears witness to this.

Conrad-von-Hötzendorfstraße 104, 8010 Graz

Ostbahnhof

In 1857, the railway line from Vienna to Trieste leading over the Semmering mountain was completed. That this line ran via Graz was rather due the imperial court’s fear of a revolution in Hungary (which was to be crushed in 1849) than Archduke John’s inflfl uence. For fear of this, the originally planned route via Hungary was discarded. Yet, when the Austro-Hungarian monarchy was established, the connection with Hungary was of course desired again. The Ostbahnhof (eastern railway station), the terminus of the Hungarian Westbahn (western line), which was built in 1873, bears witness to this.

Conrad-von-Hötzendorfstraße 104, 8010 Graz

Seifenfabrik

Due to the city’s underdeveloped transport infrastructure the industrial revolution initially went ahead very slowly in Graz. The university and administrative city was marked by small and medium-sized businesses for a long time. Nevertheless, industrialization, which set in around 1850, was the basis for the fact that the total population increased almost threefold until 1900. The Seifenfabrik (Soap Factory) in the workers’ district of Liebenau, which is used for all sorts of events today, is a monument of industrial history. But Graz could never at any time be characterized unequivocally as an industrial city.

Angergasse 41, 8010 Graz

Seifenfabrik

Due to the city’s underdeveloped transport infrastructure the industrial revolution initially went ahead very slowly in Graz. The university and administrative city was marked by small and medium-sized businesses for a long time. Nevertheless, industrialization, which set in around 1850, was the basis for the fact that the total population increased almost threefold until 1900. The Seifenfabrik (Soap Factory) in the workers’ district of Liebenau, which is used for all sorts of events today, is a monument of industrial history. But Graz could never at any time be characterized unequivocally as an industrial city.

Angergasse 41, 8010 Graz

Vinzenzkirche

In the second half of the 19th century, industrial Graz grew westward toward the railway. Thus the city was ultimately divided into two halves: in the west, on the other side of the Mur River, small craftsmen, lower middle-class and poor people and, farther to the west—around the factories—the workers’ accommodations. The wealthy educated classes, which built the Herz-Jesu-Kirche (Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus) as their religious center, lived in the east. Inaugurated in 1895, the Vinzenzkirche in Eggenberg, a community which was outside the city limits at the time, was its western counterpart.

Vinzenzgasse 42, 8020 Graz

Vinzenzkirche

In the second half of the 19th century, industrial Graz grew westward toward the railway. Thus the city was ultimately divided into two halves: in the west, on the other side of the Mur River, small craftsmen, lower middle-class and poor people and, farther to the west—around the factories—the workers’ accommodations. The wealthy educated classes, which built the Herz-Jesu-Kirche (Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus) as their religious center, lived in the east. Inaugurated in 1895, the Vinzenzkirche in Eggenberg, a community which was outside the city limits at the time, was its western counterpart.

Vinzenzgasse 42, 8020 Graz

Landeskrankenhaus – Universitätsklinikum Graz

At the turn of the 20th century, the art nouveau buildings of Grand Hotel Wiesler, Hotel Erzherzog Johann, or the large department store Kastner & Öhler were among the few hallmarks of international modernity in Graz. The State Hospital, which also attracted plenty of attention on a supra-regional level, was another manifestation of this. Due to its location far outside the city center the project met fi erce opposition fi rst but its expansive arrangement of pavilions with subterranean connecting passages was soon accepted because of its superior functionality and Secessionist ornaments.

Auenbruggerplatz 1, 8036 Graz

Landeskrankenhaus – Universitätsklinikum Graz

At the turn of the 20th century, the art nouveau buildings of Grand Hotel Wiesler, Hotel Erzherzog Johann, or the large department store Kastner & Öhler were among the few hallmarks of international modernity in Graz. The State Hospital, which also attracted plenty of attention on a supra-regional level, was another manifestation of this. Due to its location far outside the city center the project met fi erce opposition fi rst but its expansive arrangement of pavilions with subterranean connecting passages was soon accepted because of its superior functionality and Secessionist ornaments.

Auenbruggerplatz 1, 8036 Graz

Städtisches Amtshaus

In 1885, Graz transformed from a bourgeois liberal to the “most German city of the monarchy”. Mayor Franz Graf was a hero acclaimed all over the “German countries”— for violent demonstrations which were staged as a struggle of races between the Teutons and the Slavs. In the case of representative buildings, such as the Städtische Amtshaus (municipal district offi ces building) of 1904, the nationalistic element directly or indirectly encouraged a building attitude which aimed at going through all styles in an (old) German manner. Liberals preferred Renaissance, German Nationals the Gothic style.

Schmiedgasse 26, 8010 Graz

Städtisches Amtshaus

In 1885, Graz transformed from a bourgeois liberal to the “most German city of the monarchy”. Mayor Franz Graf was a hero acclaimed all over the “German countries”— for violent demonstrations which were staged as a struggle of races between the Teutons and the Slavs. In the case of representative buildings, such as the Städtische Amtshaus (municipal district offi ces building) of 1904, the nationalistic element directly or indirectly encouraged a building attitude which aimed at going through all styles in an (old) German manner. Liberals preferred Renaissance, German Nationals the Gothic style.

Schmiedgasse 26, 8010 Graz

Herz-Jesu-Kirche

The private residential building—not the one located within the group of houses of a housing estate but the one immediately adjacent to the public street in a positive relationship—this urban pattern of the Gründerzeit is still most in demand according to the real estate price index. The peak of this is represented by the area around the Herz- Jesu-Kirche (Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus), the neo-Gothic brick work building planned by Georg Hauberisser Jr., which dominates the architecture of the eastern part of the city. Today, its southwest tower, which was completed in 1887, is one of the highest ones in Austria.

Sparbersbachgasse 58, 8010 Graz

Herz-Jesu-Kirche

The private residential building—not the one located within the group of houses of a housing estate but the one immediately adjacent to the public street in a positive relationship—this urban pattern of the Gründerzeit is still most in demand according to the real estate price index. The peak of this is represented by the area around the Herz- Jesu-Kirche (Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus), the neo-Gothic brick work building planned by Georg Hauberisser Jr., which dominates the architecture of the eastern part of the city. Today, its southwest tower, which was completed in 1887, is one of the highest ones in Austria.

Sparbersbachgasse 58, 8010 Graz

Graz

1809–1914

1809–1914
Graz 1809–1914
Einleitung anhören

Der Verlust der Festung zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts ist nur der Anfang rascher Veränderungsprozesse. Die Industrialisierung und explodierende Bevölkerungszahlen führen zu einem sich ändernden Stadtbild. Neu entstandene große Betriebe ziehen Menschen in die Stadt – die Arbeiterklasse entsteht.

Die Veränderungen betreffen auch das soziale Gefüge. In verschiedenen Bevölkerungsschichten streben Frauen nach mehr Selbst- und Mitbestimmung. Das Bürgertum befindet sich zwischen Begeisterung für technische Innovationen und Industrialisierungsprozessen einerseits, Nostalgie und Angst vor Veränderungen andererseits. Biedermeierliche Idylle und Modernisierung stehen einander gegenüber.

Kulturell und auch politisch zunehmend spürbar wird die deutschnationale Gesinnung in der „deutschesten Stadt der Monarchie“.

Das Damenfahrrad aus dem Jahr 1900 verfügt typischerweise nicht nur über ein Kleidernetz, sondern auch über eine Karbidlampe als Lichtquelle. Diese Gaslampe war ab den 1890ern für Gebäude, Fahrräder und andere Fahrzeuge in Gebrauch. Als Brennstoff diente Calciumcarbid, das in Verbindung mit Wasser Ethin-Gas zur Entzündung freisetzte. Karbidlampen waren teils bis in die 1950er-Jahre beliebt, weil sie sehr leicht, hell und relativ günstig waren. Danach wurden sie von elektrischer Beleuchtung verdrängt.

Damenfahrrad Puch, Baujahr 1900

Ein „Windischer“ macht Österreich mobil

Als der Untersteirer Janez Puh als Johannes Puch vom kleinen Handwerker zum Fabrikbesitzer aufstieg, wandelte sich Graz von einem verschlafenen Provinzstädtchen zu einem Industrie- und Handelszentrum. Die Anbindung an die Südachse des Eisenbahnnetzes mit der Trasse Graz-Mürzzuschlag im Jahr 1844 hatte die Stadt ins Industriezeitalter befördert. Neben den Puchwerken lockten weitere Großbetriebe wie die Brauereien Reininghaus und Puntigam, die Andritzer Maschinenfabrik, die Weitzer Waggonfabrik oder die Schuhfabrik D. H. Pollak & Co. (heute: Humanic) zigtausend Arbeitsuchende vom Umland in die Stadt.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.

Das Wasser der Mur wurde zum Bewässern von Feldern, zum Löschen von Bränden oder – wie hier zu sehen – zum Wäschewaschen verwendet. Im 19. Jahrhundert war dieses noch eine Schwerstarbeit, die Frauen verrichteten. Die Wäsche wurde per Hand geklopft, geschrubbt, ausgeschwemmt, ausgewrungen und über Leinen zum Trocknen gehängt.

Die nach Kaiser Ferdinand I. benannte Kettenbrücke wurde durch Franz Strohmeyer, den Pächter der Überfuhr, und nach Plänen des Wiener Architekten Johann Jäckl errichtet. Sie war die erste Kettenbrücke der Steiermark und die größte Österreichs. An ihrer Stelle befindet sich heute die Keplerbrücke.

Die dem Älteren Bäckerei-Consortium angehörende Rottalmühle mit den zwei hohen Giebeln ist einer jener Betriebe, die vor Einführung der Dampfmaschine ihre Energie aus dem linken Mühlgang bezogen.

Links im Bild liegt ein Floß auf der Mur. Der noch unregulierte Fluss ist zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts noch immer ein Verkehrsweg für Personen und Güter.

Die Pruggmeier’sche Hadernstampfe ist eine Papiermühle, also ein Betrieb, in dem Papier aus Pflanzenfasern bzw. Lumpen hergestellt wird. Das so gewonnene Papier wurde unter dem Dach und im Garten zum Trocknen aufgehängt.

Die neuerbaute Kettenbrücke der Hauptstadt Graz – Ansicht vom Schloßberg gegen Westen Conrad Kreuzer, 1836

Frühindustrialisierung – ein Grazer Idyll

Im Vordergrund beherrscht die Beschaulichkeit des Biedermeiers das Bild. Im Mühlgang liegt die Hauptenergiequelle von damals: die Wasserräder der Mühlen. Doch im eigentlichen Zentrum steht das neue Industriezeitalter. 1833 wurde an der Stelle der heutigen Keplerbrücke die erste steirische und damals größte österreichische Kettenbrücke errichtet, die Ferdinand-Kettenbrücke. Um die Fahrbahn zu halten, brauchte es zwei mächtige gemauerte Kettenhäuser beiderseits der Mur. Technischen Meisterleistungen wie dieser ist auch der Ausbau der Bahnstrecken zu verdanken.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.
Inschrift an der Oper Graz (Reproduktion)

Graz, das Nürnberg des Südens

Mit dem Amtsantritt von Bürgermeister Franz Graf fiel 1897 die Entscheidung für den Bau eines neuen Stadttheaters. Der kulturpolitische Antrieb der Stadtregierung war eindeutig: Es sollte eine deutschnationale Weihestätte der Wagner-Pflege werden. In Graz herrschte große Begeisterung für Richard Wagner, die Leitfigur des deutschsprachigen Kultur-Bürgertums. Davon zeugt die Marmortafel auf der Rückseite des heutigen Opernhauses mit den Versen des Hans Sachs aus der Oper „Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg“.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.

Die deutsche Vormachtstellung beginnt zu wanken

Als Vielvölkerreich war die österreichisch-ungarische Monarchie von Sprachenvielfalt gekennzeichnet. Am verbreitetsten waren Deutsch, Ungarisch, Tschechisch, Polnisch, Ukrainisch, Rumänisch, Kroatisch, Serbisch, Slowakisch, Slowenisch und Italienisch. Deutsch war die dominierende Amtssprache. Den Minderheiten wurden ab 1867 formale Freiheiten eingeräumt, im k. u. k. Reichsrat waren zehn Sprachen zugelassen. Trotzdem wurden die Unabhängigkeitsforderungen einzelner Nationalitäten immer stärker.

Insbesondere in Graz und der Steiermark, als Grenzgebiet zum slawischen Raum, kamen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zunehmend deutschnationale Tendenzen auf. 1889 wurde der mitgliederstarke Verein Südmark gegründet, der sich für den Gebrauch der deutschen Sprache im Grenzgebiet bzw. deutsche Sprachinseln in fremdsprachigen Gebieten einsetzte. Den einflussreichen Verein prägte eine zunehmend slawenfeindliche Haltung, die zahlreiche Bürger/-innen in dieser Zeit einnahmen.

Legende

Grenze der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Monarchie 1908

Die Österreichisch-Ungarische Monarchie ist ein Vielvölkerreich. Die Verwaltungen versuchen, durch Volkszählungen einen Überblick über die ethnischen Zugehörigkeiten zu erlangen. Dabei wird jedoch nicht die Nationalität, sondern die Alltagssprache abgefragt. Die Befragten wissen oft selbst nicht, zu welcher Sprache sie sich bekennen sollen. Viele Grazer Sloweninnen und Slowenen glauben, sich als deutschsprachig erklären zu müssen. Bei der Erfassung der relativen Mehrheit gehen auch die unzähligen Minderheiten verloren.

shape-square Created with Sketch. Projekt Stadt

Auch im 19. Jahrhundert war es die Stadt, die den gesellschaftlichen Wandel beförderte, die für Hygiene, Infrastruktur und kulturelle Einrichtungen sorgte. In der ersten Jahrhunderthälfte leitete Erzherzog Johann den Aufbruch der Stadt Graz in eine technisch-wissenschaftliche Wissensgesellschaft ein.

Die Gründerzeit der 1870er- und 1880er-Jahre war auch in Graz geprägt vom liberalen Bürgertum. Die individuelle Freiheit der Person und des Eigentums bildeten die Voraussetzungen für eine kapitalistische Gesellschaftsordnung. Konzept und Lebensform des Bürgerlichen wurden über die sozialen Grenzen und die herrschenden Gesellschaftsordnungen hinweg zum Ideal erhoben.

Aber das „bürgerliche Projekt“ begann sich in ideologischen Machtkämpfen selbst zu fragmentieren und zu zerstören. Die entwurzelten kleinbürgerlichen Schichten suchten eine neue Übersichtlichkeit in einer überschaubaren Gemeinschaft mit eindeutigen Feindbildern.

shape-circle Created with Sketch. Geschlechterrollen

Die Frau als Hausfrau und Mutter, der Mann als Familienernährer – das war das bürgerliche Ideal des 19. Jahrhunderts. Gleichzeitig wurden die Forderungen immer vehementer, diese starren Geschlechtergrenzen aufzubrechen. Frauen schlossen sich zu sozialen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Bewegungen zusammen. Adelige und bürgerliche Frauen gründeten – wie 1848 in Graz – Vereine der Fürsorge und Bildung. Arbeiterinnen organisierten sich, um gerechte Entlohnung, geregelte Arbeitszeiten und vermehrt auch das Wahlrecht zu fordern.

Die Voraussetzung für Gleichheit war das Recht auf Schulbildung oder berufliche Ausbildung – ein Recht, das allmählich erkämpft wurde: 1873 eröffnete in Graz, im Gebäude des heutigen GrazMuseum, das erste Mädchenlyzeum der Monarchie. 1898 wurde an der Universität Graz die erste ordentliche Hörerin zugelassen.

shape-triangle Created with Sketch. Vielfalt

Im Zeitalter von Erzherzog Johann prägte die Aufklärung den Denkstil der Gebildeten in den Freimaurerlogen, Akademien, Salons und Lesezirkeln. Der österreichische Polizeistaat des Staatskanzlers Metternich aber schuf das Gegenteil einer liberalen Gesellschaft. Spitzelwesen, Zensur und die Einschränkung der Meinungsfreiheit waren Alltag. Dennoch: Mit der Märzrevolution von 1848 brachen liberale Tendenzen hervor.

Auch gegen ein anderes Phänomen der Zeit ging das System vor: den Nationalismus, der unvereinbar mit den vielen Völkern der Habsburgermonarchie schien. Nachdem Metternich gestürzt war, wurde immer vehementer nationale Selbstbestimmung gefordert. Nach der Niederlage Österreichs im Krieg gegen Preußen 1866 entstand schließlich ein „kleindeutscher“ Nationalstaat. Als 1870/71 das Deutsche Kaiserreich ausgerufen wurde, setzten viele Deutschsprachige ihre Hoffnung auf die neue europäische Großmacht – nicht nur in Graz.

shape-rectangle Created with Sketch. Stadtbilder

Die Festung auf dem Schloßberg wurde nach dem Sieg des napoleonischen Heeres über die Habsburgischen Truppen 1809 gesprengt und das Grazer Stadtbild verlor sein dominantestes Merkmal. Ein Teil der landesfürstlichen Burg, viele Wehranlagen, Basteien und Stadttore wurden geschleift.

An ihrer Stelle entstanden die Ringstraße und die Englischen Gärten auf dem Schloßberg und im Stadtpark. Auch die gründerzeitlichen Wohnviertel in Geidorf und St. Leonhard entwickelten sich. Auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen „Hofgartens“ wurde der klassizistische Franzensplatz als der nobelste Platz von Graz errichtet – der heutige Freiheitsplatz.

Verkehrswege wurden begradigt und reguliert, moderne Brücken verbanden die Altstadt mit den Bezirken Gries und Lend, gleichzeitig wurde die Annenstraße zum Hauptbahnhof angelegt. Allein zwischen 1885 und 1900 entstanden 1800 Neubauten. Die Stadt Graz, wie wir sie heute kennen, war damit in ihrer Kerngestalt abgeschlossen.

Ostbahnhof

1857 war die Bahnstrecke von Wien über den Semmering bis Triest fertiggestellt. Dass diese Verbindung über Graz ging, ist weniger Erzherzog Johann zu verdanken als der Angst des Hofes vor einer ungarischen Revolution (die dann 1849 auch niederzuschlagen war). Wegen dieser Befürchtung war die ursprüngliche Trassenführung über Ungarn abgeblasen worden. Nach der Etablierung der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Monarchie freilich war die Verbindung mit Ungarn wieder erwünscht: Der Ostbahnhof, Endpunkt der 1873 errichteten ungarischen Westbahn, zeugt davon.

Conrad-von-Hötzendorfstraße 104, 8010 Graz

Ostbahnhof

1857 war die Bahnstrecke von Wien über den Semmering bis Triest fertiggestellt. Dass diese Verbindung über Graz ging, ist weniger Erzherzog Johann zu verdanken als der Angst des Hofes vor einer ungarischen Revolution (die dann 1849 auch niederzuschlagen war). Wegen dieser Befürchtung war die ursprüngliche Trassenführung über Ungarn abgeblasen worden. Nach der Etablierung der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Monarchie freilich war die Verbindung mit Ungarn wieder erwünscht: Der Ostbahnhof, Endpunkt der 1873 errichteten ungarischen Westbahn, zeugt davon.

Conrad-von-Hötzendorfstraße 104, 8010 Graz

Seifenfabrik

Die Industrielle Revolution ging in Graz, auch wegen der unterentwickelten Verkehrsverhältnisse, zunächst nur sehr vonstatten. Die Universitäts- und Verwaltungsstadt blieb lange von Klein- und Mittelbetrieben geprägt. Die um 1850 einsetzende Industrialisierung war aber dennoch die Grundlage dafür, dass sich die Einwohner/-innenzahl bis 1900 fast verdreifachte. Die heute für Events genutzte Seifenfabrik im Arbeiterbezirk Liebenau ist ein industriehistorisches Denkmal. Aber Graz hatte zu keiner Zeit den eindeutigen Charakter einer Industriestadt.

Angergasse 41, 8010 Graz

Seifenfabrik

Die Industrielle Revolution ging in Graz, auch wegen der unterentwickelten Verkehrsverhältnisse, zunächst nur sehr vonstatten. Die Universitäts- und Verwaltungsstadt blieb lange von Klein- und Mittelbetrieben geprägt. Die um 1850 einsetzende Industrialisierung war aber dennoch die Grundlage dafür, dass sich die Einwohner/-innenzahl bis 1900 fast verdreifachte. Die heute für Events genutzte Seifenfabrik im Arbeiterbezirk Liebenau ist ein industriehistorisches Denkmal. Aber Graz hatte zu keiner Zeit den eindeutigen Charakter einer Industriestadt.

Angergasse 41, 8010 Graz

Vinzenzkirche

In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wuchs Graz industriell nach Westen gegen die Bahn zu. Damit formierte sich die Stadt endgültig in zwei Hälften: jenseits der Mur Kleinhandwerker/-innen, Kleinbürger/-innen und Arme und noch weiter westlich – rund um die Fabriken – die Quartiere der Arbeiter/-innen. Im Osten das Besitz- und Bildungsbürgertum, das sich sein religiöses Zentrum mit der Herz-Jesu-Kirche schuf. Ihr westliches Gegenstück ist die 1895 geweihte Vinzenzkirche in Eggenberg, das damals außerhalb der Stadt lag.

Vinzenzgasse 42, 8020 Graz

Vinzenzkirche

In der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wuchs Graz industriell nach Westen gegen die Bahn zu. Damit formierte sich die Stadt endgültig in zwei Hälften: jenseits der Mur Kleinhandwerker/-innen, Kleinbürger/-innen und Arme und noch weiter westlich – rund um die Fabriken – die Quartiere der Arbeiter/-innen. Im Osten das Besitz- und Bildungsbürgertum, das sich sein religiöses Zentrum mit der Herz-Jesu-Kirche schuf. Ihr westliches Gegenstück ist die 1895 geweihte Vinzenzkirche in Eggenberg, das damals außerhalb der Stadt lag.

Vinzenzgasse 42, 8020 Graz

Landeskrankenhaus – Universitätsklinikum Graz

An der Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert gehörten die Jugendstilbauten des Grand Hotel Wiesler, des Hotels Erzherzog Johann oder des Großkaufhauses Kastner & Öhler zu den wenigen Zeichen internationaler Modernität. Eine weitere Manifestation war das auch überregional sehr beachtete Landeskrankenhaus. Wegen seiner stadtfernen Lage zunächst bekämpft, wurde die ausgedehnte Anlage im Pavillonsystem mit unterirdischen Verbindungsgängen wegen ihrer überlegenen Funktionalität und sezessionistischen Ornamentik rasch angenommen.

Auenbruggerplatz 1, 8036 Graz

Landeskrankenhaus – Universitätsklinikum Graz

An der Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert gehörten die Jugendstilbauten des Grand Hotel Wiesler, des Hotels Erzherzog Johann oder des Großkaufhauses Kastner & Öhler zu den wenigen Zeichen internationaler Modernität. Eine weitere Manifestation war das auch überregional sehr beachtete Landeskrankenhaus. Wegen seiner stadtfernen Lage zunächst bekämpft, wurde die ausgedehnte Anlage im Pavillonsystem mit unterirdischen Verbindungsgängen wegen ihrer überlegenen Funktionalität und sezessionistischen Ornamentik rasch angenommen.

Auenbruggerplatz 1, 8036 Graz

Städtisches Amtshaus

1885 wandelte sich Graz von einer bürgerlich-liberalen zur „deutschesten Stadt der Monarchie“. Bürgermeister Franz Graf war ein in allen „deutschen Landen“ gefeierter Held gewaltsamer Demonstrationen, die als Rassenkampf der Germanen gegen die Slawen inszeniert wurden. Bei Repräsentationsbauten, wie dem Städtischen Amtshaus von 1904, ist das „Nationale“ direkt oder indirekt Hintergrund einer Baugesinnung, die alle Stile (alt-)deutsch zu deklinieren wünscht. Liberale bevorzugten die Renaissance, Deutschnationale die Gotik.

Schmiedgasse 26, 8010 Graz

Städtisches Amtshaus

1885 wandelte sich Graz von einer bürgerlich-liberalen zur „deutschesten Stadt der Monarchie“. Bürgermeister Franz Graf war ein in allen „deutschen Landen“ gefeierter Held gewaltsamer Demonstrationen, die als Rassenkampf der Germanen gegen die Slawen inszeniert wurden. Bei Repräsentationsbauten, wie dem Städtischen Amtshaus von 1904, ist das „Nationale“ direkt oder indirekt Hintergrund einer Baugesinnung, die alle Stile (alt-)deutsch zu deklinieren wünscht. Liberale bevorzugten die Renaissance, Deutschnationale die Gotik.

Schmiedgasse 26, 8010 Graz

Herz-Jesu-Kirche

Das private Wohnhaus, nicht zur Siedlung gruppiert, sondern in positiver Beziehung direkt an die öffentliche Straße angrenzend – dieses urbane Muster der Gründerzeit erfreut sich laut Immobilienpreisspiegel nach wie vor der größten Nachfrage. Den Gipfel stellt das Viertel um die Herz-Jesu-Kirche dar, jenen neofrühgotischen Rohziegelbau von Georg Hauberisser d. J., der den gutbürgerlichen, östlichen Teil der Stadt städtebaulich beherrscht. Sein 1887 vollendeter Südwestturm gehört zu den höchsten des heutigen Österreich.

Sparbersbachgasse 58, 8010 Graz

Herz-Jesu-Kirche

Das private Wohnhaus, nicht zur Siedlung gruppiert, sondern in positiver Beziehung direkt an die öffentliche Straße angrenzend – dieses urbane Muster der Gründerzeit erfreut sich laut Immobilienpreisspiegel nach wie vor der größten Nachfrage. Den Gipfel stellt das Viertel um die Herz-Jesu-Kirche dar, jenen neofrühgotischen Rohziegelbau von Georg Hauberisser d. J., der den gutbürgerlichen, östlichen Teil der Stadt städtebaulich beherrscht. Sein 1887 vollendeter Südwestturm gehört zu den höchsten des heutigen Österreich.

Sparbersbachgasse 58, 8010 Graz