Graz

1945–2003

1945–2003
Graz 1945–2003
Listen to introduction

After the Second World War, Graz was first occupied by Russian troops and finally part of the British occupation zone. The city’s population faced the ruins of war, denazification processes and the challenges of reconstruction. In the decades that followed, the public had to deal with the National Socialist past. Since the 1980s, this has been demanded with vehemence within the framework of art projects.

The path from the “City of the Popular Uprising” to the “City of Human Rights” in 2001 was not straightforward and cannot be considered completed down to the present day. Socio-political issues such as equal rights for women, the rights of homosexuals, dealing with cultural diversity in the city and tolerance have characterised the period from 1945 to this day. Urban planning, housing and transport are also important issues. 2003 marked a highlight in recent history: Graz was appointed European Capital of Culture.

Trace options of the Pyhrn-Autobahn across Graz MVD Austria / GrazMuseum, 2019

The Car-friendly Murvorstadt

A motorway across the Mur River, across a residential area or through the Plabutsch? As from the 1950s, the explosive increase of car traffic presented Graz in particular with big challenges. What came in addition was the traffic generated by the foreign workers from Yugoslavia streaming to the north. In 1970, the Municipal Council under social democratic Mayor Gustav Scherbaum resolved to route the highway as an underfloor route through the working-class residential areas in the west. A citizens’ initiative was formed and the city motorway project was prevented. As an alternative, the Plabutsch Tunnel was opened in 1987.

More information Created with Sketch.

After Hans Haacke veiled the Marian Column at the Eisernes Tor (Iron Gate) with a sheathing reminding of the National Socialist demonstration in 1938, it was set on fire by right-wing extremists.

Und ihr habt doch gesiegt (And You have Won After All) Hans Haacke, 1988

“Guilt and Innocence”

The (missing) reappraisal of the National Socialist past in Austria was also criticized by artists from the 1980s at the latest. As part of the steirischer herbst festival 1988, initialized by the art historian Werner Fenz, the artist Hans Haacke created a reconstruction of the obelisk with which the National Socialists had encased the Marian column at Eisernes Tor in 1938. At that time, the victory symbol was intended as an acknowledgement for the “City of the Popular Uprising”. With his memorial, Haacke drew attention to the crimes of the Nazi era. Right-wing extremists set it on fire. The general public responded immediately with protests in front of the burnt down obelisk.

More information Created with Sketch.

Coming, Staying, Moving On: Migration as Permanent Political Challenge

Migration has shaped the history of Graz since it was first settled. After the end of the Second World War, Graz was a stopover for many Holocaust survivors on their way to the USA or Palestine. Thousands of former forced labourers, prisoners of war and “Volksdeutsche” (Ethnic Germans), as the National Socialists called them, who fled from formerly occupied countries, were accommodated in makeshift homes.

From 1948 Jews fled from the Soviet Union to Graz to escape Stalinist purges, and from 1956, political refugees fled from Hungary, Czechoslovakia and Poland. More than 90,000 people fled from former Yugoslavia to Austria and Graz due to the wars in the 1990s.

Migration is still a challenge for municipal politics and civil society today, most recently triggered by the Syrian Civil War. In 1995, “the Migrants Advisory Council” was established by the Graz Municipal Council as a stakeholder and advice centre.

Legend

Border after 1945

Border 2016

Migration 1945–1955

Migration 1956–1982

Jewish migration after 1945

shape-square Created with Sketch. The Project of the City

It was not until after the end of World War II that the civic project was continued under Mayor Eduard Speck. Its most important task was the fight against starvation, frost and housing shortage in the city administrated by British forces.

After the departure of the British occupying power in 1955, the civic project was understood as a top-down municipal policy. From the 1970s, however, the Grazers increasingly asserted their right to co-determination and co-creation in the form of civil society associations.

Similar to the civic principle of the Middle Ages, the desire for peaceful coexistence of responsible citizens, who organise themselves and make decisions in public discourse together with municipal politicians, dominates today. Orientation along the common good, an open society, non-violence and tolerance have always belonged and still belong to the self-conception and intrinsic right of today’s civic society.

shape-circle Created with Sketch. Gender Roles

After World War Two, a reactionary gender image was propagated. The stereotypical couple of the 1950s: a husband who only works for his family and a housewife who loves her children and supports him unconditionally.

In the late 1960s, a “new women’s movement” formed to counter restrictive gender attributions. Its representatives called for equality in all matters of private and public life by means of spectacular social and artistic interventions. Due to this pressure, women were given legal independence and more political influence.

The spirit of optimism encouraged activists of any gender and sexual orientation: they successfully fought for anti-discrimination laws. The mandatory equality of the genders and irrelevance of one’s sexual orientation as stipulated in constitutional law and the human rights was implemented with same sex marriage in 2019.

shape-triangle Created with Sketch. Diversity

The 20th century was defined by mass migration movements. During and after World War II, the greatest migration movements of the modern age took place under the regimes of violence and territorial and social dislocation. Many of the persecuted or stateless people sought refuge in Graz. The immigration of foreign workers, especially from Spain, Turkey and former Yugoslavia, also boosted economic growth in the post-war decades.

From the 1980s onwards, Austria was increasingly confronted with its repressed responsibility during the Nazi regime, not least in the wake of the Waldheim affair. The rebuilding of the synagogue in Graz, which was initiated in 1983, awakened the memory of National Socialist pogroms, the expulsion and murder of the Jewish population. The “City of the Popular Uprising”, which has been City of Human Rights since 2001, has shown a particular tension between repression and public reappraisal down to the present day.

shape-rectangle Created with Sketch. Images of the City

After the Second World War, Graz had to re-erect or build from scratch about half of all buildings. On the outskirts, makeshift settlements were part of the everyday cityscape. Little by little, the areas which belonged to the city since their incorporation in 1938 were randomly populated with one-family and two-family houses.

In the 1970s, general awareness matured both of the cultural value of the historical building stock and of the negative impact of too much car traffic on the quality of life. Parts of the city centre belong to the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage today and a pedestrian zone was built in the area of the city centre in 1972.

The issue of congestion, in particular the design of public transport, also to reduce particulate matter, still holds potential for discussion and action. In which form the city in a “humane” form is to be developed further is something Graz will still have to deal with in the future.

Elisabethhochhaus

People who live in the Elisabeth High-rise Building in boundless freedom enjoy an impressive vista of the old town. People who look at the high-rise building marvel at a peculiar “flaw” in the urban fabric. At a building height that had until then only been conceded to places of worship. While forest and grassland surfaces were used up for one-family houses in the peripheral districts, the Elisabeth High-rise Building provides an extreme vertical construction extension after all. It was planned in a time of major housing shortage and was built between 1964 and 1966—precisely at the time of the initiative “Rettet die Altstadt” (Save the Old Town).

Hugo-Wolf-Gasse 10, 8010 Graz

Elisabethhochhaus

People who live in the Elisabeth High-rise Building in boundless freedom enjoy an impressive vista of the old town. People who look at the high-rise building marvel at a peculiar “flaw” in the urban fabric. At a building height that had until then only been conceded to places of worship. While forest and grassland surfaces were used up for one-family houses in the peripheral districts, the Elisabeth High-rise Building provides an extreme vertical construction extension after all. It was planned in a time of major housing shortage and was built between 1964 and 1966—precisely at the time of the initiative “Rettet die Altstadt” (Save the Old Town).

Hugo-Wolf-Gasse 10, 8010 Graz

Tiefgarage, Andreas-Hofer-Platz

The pale light of the light tower on Andreas-Hofer-Platz illuminates an infrastructure for motor traffic which filled a gap site in 1966. Until 1934, the Monastery of the Order of the Sisters of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel had been there, on Fischplatz, which had been dissolved by Joseph II and had become the “k.u.k. Monturdepot” (Imperial and Royal Uniform Depot). The underground car park, the pavilion of the rent-a-car, and the light tower tell of an era in which a lot was to be sacrificed to motorisation. Among other things, the bicycle demonstrations led by Erich Edegger and the establishment of “Alternative Liste Graz” responded to the “car-friendly city” around 1980.

Andreas-Hofer-Platz 133/2, 8010 Graz

Tiefgarage, Andreas-Hofer-Platz

The pale light of the light tower on Andreas-Hofer-Platz illuminates an infrastructure for motor traffic which filled a gap site in 1966. Until 1934, the Monastery of the Order of the Sisters of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel had been there, on Fischplatz, which had been dissolved by Joseph II and had become the “k.u.k. Monturdepot” (Imperial and Royal Uniform Depot). The underground car park, the pavilion of the rent-a-car, and the light tower tell of an era in which a lot was to be sacrificed to motorisation. Among other things, the bicycle demonstrations led by Erich Edegger and the establishment of “Alternative Liste Graz” responded to the “car-friendly city” around 1980.

Andreas-Hofer-Platz 133/2, 8010 Graz

Stadthalle Graz

Only sporadically used trade fair areas can rarely be found in the ‘shop window’ of a city. In 2003, the growing and economically aspiring Cultural Capital put a different emphasis on quality with the new Fair Hall. Already from afar, visitors coming from the south are welcomed with an inviting gesture by the bold flying roof, which has been conceived by the Graz-based architect Klaus Kada. With this masterpiece of construction engineering, which is supported by four pillars, Graz now had a representative hall for big events and thus also fired the starting pistol for an urban (sub-)centre between the Gründerzeit city and DIY stores and petrol stations.

Messeplatz 1, 8010 Graz

Stadthalle Graz

Only sporadically used trade fair areas can rarely be found in the ‘shop window’ of a city. In 2003, the growing and economically aspiring Cultural Capital put a different emphasis on quality with the new Fair Hall. Already from afar, visitors coming from the south are welcomed with an inviting gesture by the bold flying roof, which has been conceived by the Graz-based architect Klaus Kada. With this masterpiece of construction engineering, which is supported by four pillars, Graz now had a representative hall for big events and thus also fired the starting pistol for an urban (sub-)centre between the Gründerzeit city and DIY stores and petrol stations.

Messeplatz 1, 8010 Graz

Graz

1945–2003

1945–2003
Graz 1945–2003
Einleitung anhören

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ist Graz zunächst von russischen Truppen besetzt und schließlich Teil der britischen Besatzungszone. Die Stadtbevölkerung steht vor den Trümmern des Krieges, Entnazifizierungsprozessen und den Herausforderungen des Wiederaufbaus. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten muss sich die Öffentlichkeit mit der nationalsozialistischen Vergangenheit auseinandersetzen. Vehement wird dies seit den 1980er-Jahren im Rahmen von Kunstprojekten eingefordert.

Der Weg von der „Stadt der Volkserhebung“ zur „Stadt der Menschenrechte“ 2001 vollzieht sich nicht geradlinig und kann bis heute nicht als abgeschlossen gelten. Sozialpolitische Themen wie die Gleichberechtigung der Frau, die Rechte von Homosexuellen, der Umgang mit kultureller Vielfalt in der Stadt und Toleranz prägen die Zeit von 1945 bis heute. Auch Stadtplanung, Wohnbau und Verkehr sind wichtige Themen. 2003 bildet einen Höhepunkt in der jüngeren Geschichte: Graz wird zur Kulturhauptstadt Europas ernannt.

Trassenvarianten der Pyhrn-Autobahn durch Graz MVD Austria / GrazMuseum, 2019

Die autogerechte Murvorstadt

Eine Autobahn über die Mur, quer durch ein Wohngebiet oder durch den Plabutsch? Das explosionsartige Wachstum des innerstädtischen Autoverkehrs stellte Graz ab den 1950er-Jahren vor große Herausforderungen. Hinzu kam der Verkehr durch die nach Norden strömenden „Gastarbeiter/-innen“ aus Jugoslawien. 1970 beschloss der Gemeinderat unter dem sozialdemokratischen Bürgermeister Gustav Scherbaum, die Strecke durch Graz als eine Unterflurtrasse durch die Arbeiterwohngebiete im Westen zu führen. Eine Bürgerinitiative bildete sich, das Projekt Stadtautobahn wurde verhindert. Als Ersatz wurde 1987 der Plabutschtunnel eröffnet.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.

Nachdem Hans Haacke die Mariensäule am Eisernen Tor mit einer an die national­sozialistische Kundgebung von 1938 gemahnenden Ummantelung versieht, wird diese von Rechtsextremen in Brand gesteckt.

Und ihr habt doch gesiegt Hans Haacke, 1988

„Schuld und Unschuld“

Die (fehlende) Aufarbeitung der nationalsozialistischen Vergangenheit in Österreich wurde spätestens ab den 1980er-Jahren auch von Künstler/-innen kritisiert. Auf Initiative des Grazer Kunsthistorikers Werner Fenz schuf der Künstler Hans Haacke im Rahmen des steirischen herbst 1988 eine Rekonstruktion des Obelisken, mit dem die Nationalsozialist/-innen 1938 die Mariensäule am Eisernen Tor ummantelt hatten. Das Siegeszeichen war damals als Anerkennung für die „Stadt der Volkserhebung“ gedacht gewesen. Haacke machte mit seinem Mahnmal auf die Verbrechen der NS-Zeit aufmerksam. Rechtsextreme steckten es in Brand. Die Öffentlichkeit reagierte umgehend mit Demonstrationen am Fuß des verbrannten Obelisken.

Mehr Info Created with Sketch.

Kommen, bleiben, weiterziehen: Migration als ständige politische Herausforderung

Migration prägt die Grazer Geschichte von der ersten Besiedelung an. Nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges war Graz für viele Überlebende des Holocaust Zwischenstation auf der Weiterreise in die USA oder nach Palästina. Ehemalige Zwangsarbeiter/-innen, Kriegsgefangene und die von den Nationalsozialist/-innen so bezeichneten „Volksdeutschen“, die aus ehemals besetzten Ländern flüchteten, wurden zu Tausenden in Notunterkünften untergebracht.

Ab 1948 flohen Jüdinnen und Juden vor den „Stalinschen Säuberungen“ aus der Sowjetunion nach Graz, ab 1956 politische Flüchtlinge aus Ungarn, der Tschechoslowakei und Polen. Über 90.000 Menschen flohen aufgrund der Kriege in den 1990er-Jahren aus dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien nach Österreich bzw. Graz.

Bis heute stellt Migration eine Herausforderung für Stadtpolitik und Zivilgesellschaft dar, zuletzt ausgelöst durch den Krieg in Syrien. Als politische Interessenvertretung und Beratungsstelle wurde vom Grazer Gemeinderat 1995 der MigrantInnenbeirat eingerichtet.

Legende

Grenze nach 1945

Grenze 2016

Migration 1945–1955

Migration 1956–1982

Jüdische Migration nach 1945

shape-square Created with Sketch. Projekt Stadt

Erst nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das stadtbürgerliche Projekt unter Bürgermeister Eduard Speck weiterverfolgt. Seine wichtigste Aufgabe war der Kampf gegen Hunger, Frost und Wohnungsnot in der von Brit/-innen verwalteten Stadt.

Nach dem Abzug der britischen Besatzung 1955 wurde das Projekt Stadt als Stadtpolitik von oben verstanden. Ab den 1970er-Jahren allerdings setzten die Grazer/-innen in Form von zivilgesellschaftlichen Zusammenschlüssen vermehrt ihr Recht auf Mitbestimmung und Mitgestaltung durch.

Ähnlich dem stadtbürgerlichen Prinzip des Mittelalters dominiert heute der Wunsch nach einem friedlichen Zusammenleben mündiger Bürger/-innen, die sich selbst organisieren und gemeinsam mit der Stadtpolitik im öffentlichen Diskurs Entscheidungen treffen. Orientierung am Gemeinwohl, eine offene Gesellschaft, Gewaltlosigkeit und Toleranz gehören zum Selbstverständnis und Eigenrecht der Stadtbürger/-innengesellschaft – heute wie damals.

shape-circle Created with Sketch. Geschlechterrollen

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde ein reaktionäres Geschlechterbild propagiert. Das Klischee-Paar der 1950er-Jahre: ein nur für die Familie arbeitender Mann und eine ihn bedingungslos unterstützende, kinderliebende Hausfrau.

Gegen die einengenden Geschlechtszuschreibungen formierte sich in den ausgehenden 1960er-Jahren eine „neue Frauenbewegung“. Ihre Vertreter/-innen forderten mit aufsehenerregenden sozialen und künstlerischen Interventionen eine Gleichstellung in allen Belangen des privaten und öffentlichen Lebens. Unter ihrem Druck erhielten Frauen rechtliche Eigenständigkeit und größeren politischen Einfluss.

Die Aufbruchsstimmung ermutigte Aktivisten jedes Geschlechts und jeder Sexualität: sie erkämpften Antidiskriminierungsgesetze. Die verfassungs- und menschenrechtlich verpflichtende Gleichheit der Geschlechter bzw. Gegenstandslosigkeit der sexuellen Orientierung wurde 2019 mit der gleichgeschlechtlichen Ehe umgesetzt.

shape-triangle Created with Sketch. Vielfalt

Das 20. Jahrhundert ist durch massenhafte Migrationsbewegungen geprägt. In der Zeit des Zweiten Weltkriegs und danach fanden unter den Gewalt-Regimen und der territorialen und sozialen Entwurzelung die größten Wanderungen der Neuzeit statt. Viele der verfolgten oder staatenlos gewordenen Menschen suchten in Graz Zuflucht. Die Zuwanderung von Gastarbeiter/-innen, vor allem aus Spanien, der Türkei und dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien förderte in den Nachkriegsjahrzehnten auch das Wirtschaftswachstum.

Ab den 1980er-Jahren wurde Österreich vermehrt mit seiner verdrängten Verantwortung während des NS-Regimes konfrontiert, nicht zuletzt im Zuge der Waldheim-Affäre. Die 1983 initiierte Wiedererrichtung der Synagoge in Graz weckte die Erinnerung an die NS-Pogrome, die Vertreibung und Ermordung der jüdischen Bevölkerung. In der „Stadt der Volkserhebung“, seit 2001 Menschenrechtsstadt, zeigt sich bis heute ein besonderes Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Verdrängung und öffentlicher Aufarbeitung.

shape-rectangle Created with Sketch. Stadtbilder

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg hatte Graz rund die Hälfte aller Gebäude wiederaufzubauen oder neu zu errichten. Barackensiedlungen waren Teil des Stadtbilds in den Außenbezirken. Nach und nach wurden auf jenen Flächen, die seit der Eingemeindung 1938 zur Stadt gehörten, in ungeordneter Bebauung Ein- und Zweifamilienhäuser errichtet.

In den 1970er-Jahren reifte das allgemeine Bewusstsein sowohl für den kulturellen Wert historischer Bausubstanz als auch für die Beeinträchtigung der Lebensqualität durch zu viel Autoverkehr. Heute gehören Teile der Innenstadt zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe und 1972 wurde im Bereich der Innenstadt eine Fußgängerzone errichtet.

Die Frage der Verkehrsbelastung, insbesondere die Gestaltung des öffentlichen Verkehrs, auch zur Eindämmung des Feinstaubs, birgt nach wie vor Diskussions- und Handlungspotential. In welcher Form die Stadt in „menschengerechter“ Gestalt weiterentwickelt werden soll, wird Graz auch in Zukunft beschäftigen.

Elisabethhochhaus

Wer im Elisabethhochhaus in grenzenloser Freiheit wohnt, hat einen eindrucksvollen Ausblick auf die Altstadt. Wer auf das Hochhaus schaut, wundert sich über einen seltsamen „Fehler“ im städtischen Gefüge. Über eine Bauhöhe, die bis dahin nur Gotteshäusern zugestanden wurde. Während man in den Randbezirken Wald- und Wiesenflächen für Einfamilienhäuser verbrauchte, sorgt das Elisabethhochhaus immerhin für eine extreme vertikale Nachverdichtung. Geplant in einer Zeit großer Wohnungsnot, wurde es zwischen 1964 und 1966 erbaut – exakt zur Zeit der Aktion „Rettet die Altstadt“.

Hugo-Wolf-Gasse 10, 8010 Graz

Elisabethhochhaus

Wer im Elisabethhochhaus in grenzenloser Freiheit wohnt, hat einen eindrucksvollen Ausblick auf die Altstadt. Wer auf das Hochhaus schaut, wundert sich über einen seltsamen „Fehler“ im städtischen Gefüge. Über eine Bauhöhe, die bis dahin nur Gotteshäusern zugestanden wurde. Während man in den Randbezirken Wald- und Wiesenflächen für Einfamilienhäuser verbrauchte, sorgt das Elisabethhochhaus immerhin für eine extreme vertikale Nachverdichtung. Geplant in einer Zeit großer Wohnungsnot, wurde es zwischen 1964 und 1966 erbaut – exakt zur Zeit der Aktion „Rettet die Altstadt“.

Hugo-Wolf-Gasse 10, 8010 Graz

Tiefgarage, Andreas-Hofer-Platz

Das fahle Licht des Leuchtmastens am Andreas-Hofer-Platz erhellt eine dem Autoverkehr dienende Infrastruktur, mit der 1966 eine Baulücke besetzt wurde. Bis 1934 stand dort, am Fischplatz, das von Joseph II. aufgehobene, zum k. k. Monturdepot gewordene Karmeliterinnenkloster. Tiefgarage, Autovermietungspavillon und Lichtturm künden von einer Zeit, in der in Graz Vieles der Motorisierung geopfert werden sollte. Der „autogerechten Stadt“ antworteten um 1980 unter anderem die von Erich Edegger angeführten Raddemonstrationen und die Gründung der Alternativen Liste Graz.

Andreas-Hofer-Platz 133/2, 8010 Graz

Tiefgarage, Andreas-Hofer-Platz

Das fahle Licht des Leuchtmastens am Andreas-Hofer-Platz erhellt eine dem Autoverkehr dienende Infrastruktur, mit der 1966 eine Baulücke besetzt wurde. Bis 1934 stand dort, am Fischplatz, das von Joseph II. aufgehobene, zum k. k. Monturdepot gewordene Karmeliterinnenkloster. Tiefgarage, Autovermietungspavillon und Lichtturm künden von einer Zeit, in der in Graz Vieles der Motorisierung geopfert werden sollte. Der „autogerechten Stadt“ antworteten um 1980 unter anderem die von Erich Edegger angeführten Raddemonstrationen und die Gründung der Alternativen Liste Graz.

Andreas-Hofer-Platz 133/2, 8010 Graz

Stadthalle Graz

Messeareale, sporadisch genutzt, sind selten auf der Schauseite der Stadt. Die wachsende, wirtschaftlich aufstrebende Kulturhauptstadt hat im Jahr 2003 mit der Messehalle einen anderen Qualitätsakzent gesetzt. Die von Süden kommenden Besucher-/innen begrüßt das kühne Flugdach des Grazer Architekten Klaus Kada von Weitem mit einladender Geste. Mit diesem Meisterwerk der Ingenieurbaukunst, auf vier Stützen aufruhend, hatte Graz eine repräsentative Halle für große Events und gab damit auch den Startschuss für ein urbanes (Sub-)Zentrum zwischen gründerzeitlicher Stadt sowie Baumärkten und Tankstellen.

Messeplatz 1, 8010 Graz

Stadthalle Graz

Messeareale, sporadisch genutzt, sind selten auf der Schauseite der Stadt. Die wachsende, wirtschaftlich aufstrebende Kulturhauptstadt hat im Jahr 2003 mit der Messehalle einen anderen Qualitätsakzent gesetzt. Die von Süden kommenden Besucher-/innen begrüßt das kühne Flugdach des Grazer Architekten Klaus Kada von Weitem mit einladender Geste. Mit diesem Meisterwerk der Ingenieurbaukunst, auf vier Stützen aufruhend, hatte Graz eine repräsentative Halle für große Events und gab damit auch den Startschuss für ein urbanes (Sub-)Zentrum zwischen gründerzeitlicher Stadt sowie Baumärkten und Tankstellen.

Messeplatz 1, 8010 Graz